USA Track & Field New England
National Award Recipients
Includes all New England states
(not just New England association)
Hometown at time of award

Last updated December 2022

Award Year Honoree Home
1984 Joan Benoit Freeport ME
1990 Lynn Jennings Newmarket NH
Robet DeCelle Award
Outstanding Distance Runner
1978 Bill Rodgers MA
1983 Greg Meyer MA
1984 Pete Pfitzinger Wellesley MA
1994 Bob Kempainen Hanover NH
1996 Bob Kempainen Hanover NH
Women's LDR Outstanding Distance Runner 1981, 1984, 1985 Joan Benoit MA, ME
1987, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993 Lynn Jennings Newmarket NH
2014, 2015 Molly Huddle Providence RI
C.C.Jackson Award - Women's Track-Runnng 1992 Lynn Jennings Newmarket NH
Doris Heritage Award - Women's XC 1992 Lynn Jennings Newmarket NH
Cross Country Merit Award - Men 1996 Bob Kempainen Hanover NH
Ron Zinn Award - Outstanding Racewalker 1985, 1987 Maryanne Torrellas Clinton CT
1998, 2002, 2003, 2006, 2008 Joanne Dow Manchester NH
Mountain Running Athlete of the Year 2000 Dave Dunham Bradford MA/CMS
2001 Eric Morse Berlin VT/CMS
2002, 2003, 2004 Paul Low Amherst MA /CMS
2009 (masters) Dave Dunham Bradford /CMS
2010 Gina Lucrezi Milford MA/INOV-8
2010, (masters) Tim Van Orden Bennington VT/CMS
2011 Kasie Enman Huntington VT/BAA
2011 (masters) Tim Van Orden Bennington VT/CMS
2011 (masters) Jackie Shakar Sutton MA/CSU
2012 (masters) Dave Dunham Bradford MA/CMS
Masters TF Athlete of Year 2011, 2012 Flo Meiler (75+) Shelburne VT/MVTC
2015 Flo Meiler (80+) Shelburne VT/MVTC
2018 Julie Williams-Tinkham (35+) Framingham MA/TT
2022 Flo Meiler - Overall USATF Masters AOY Shelburne VT/Sprinticity
2022 Nat Larson - USATF Masters Track AOY Amherst MA/Gr.Springfield Harriers
Award Year Honoree Home
President's Award
Continued Service to the Organization and the Sport
1981 Bob Campbell West Roxbury MA
1987 Ken Caouette Greenfield MA
1989 John Babington Cambridge MA
1989 Bruce Douglass Ledyard CT
1992 Rich Torrellas Clinton CT
1993 Ron Boemker Cranston RI
1995 The Boston Marathon Boston MA
1999 Steve Vaitones Waltham MA
2000 Bonnie Edmondson Manchester CT
2001 Michael Scott Newport RI
2005 Reggie Lewis Center Boston MA
2006 Conventures/Tufts 10K for Women Boston MA
2008 Laurie Boemker Cranston RI
2009 Bill Mongovan Greenwich CT
2011 Yvonne Grimes Sandy Hook CT
2013 Laurie Boemker Cranston RI
2013 Dave Dunham Bradford MA
2013 Justin Kuo Brookline MA
2013 Kathy Nary Newbury MA
2015 Bill Clark Waltham MA
2018 Mike Scott Newport RI
2020 Steve Vaitones Waltham MA
2021 Laurie Boemker Cranston RI
Pat and Helio Rico Award - Lifetime Achievement in the Sport 2015 Ron and Laurie Boemker Cranston RI
Andy Bakjian Award - Officials - Lifetime
The highest award for officials
1984 Ken Caouette Greenfield MA
2018 Justin Kuo Brookline MA
John Davis Award - Officials - Humanitarian 2008 Ron and Laurie Boemker Cranston RI
Charlie Ruter Award - Officials - Track Events 2015 Laurie Boemker Cranston RI
James Grey Award - Officials For Leadership and Development 2017 Don Berry Maine Assn
Lori Maynard Award - Officials - Race Walking 2016 Maryanne Daniel Clinton CT
Officials Hall of Fame 2007 Ken Caouette (innaugural class) Greenfield MA
2014 Laurie Boemker Cranston RI
2022 Bill Mongovan Greenwich CT
H.Browning Ross LDR Merit Award 1970 Bob Campbell West Roxbury MA
1981 Will Cloney Hingham MA
1999 Michael Scott Newport RI
Allan Steinfeld Award
LDR Administration / Management
2012 Guy Morse B.A.A.
2022 Tom Grilk B.A.A.
Scott Hamilton Award
Men's LDR - Association Level
1997 Steve Vaitones Waltham MA
1998 Steve Vaitones Waltham MA
2014 Tom Derderian Winthrop MA
Women's LDR Contributor
Renamed Marja Bakker Award in 2006
1988 Martha White Brookline MA
1999 Charlotte Lanahan VT
2000 Ray Lapinski Derby CT
2002 Kathy Nary Newbury MA
2005 Marja Bakker Medford MA
2008 Frank Porter BAA, Boston MA
Cross Country Merit Award
Lifetime service to Cross Country
2012 Mike Scott Newport RI
Doris Heritage Award
Contributions to Cross Country
1995 John Babington Cambridge MA
2015 Steve Vaitones Waltham MA
Mike Riban Award
Contributions to Racewalking
1984 Bob Kitchen Northampton MA
1998 Tom Eastler Farmington ME
2002 Steve Vaitones Waltham MA
2011 Justin Kuo Brookline MA
Frank Sevigne Award
Contributions to Youth Athletics
1994 Ron Boemker Cranston RI
2017 Bill Mongovan Connecticut Assn
Otto Essig Award - Masters LDR
1977 Otto Essig Westfield MA
1992 Kirk Randall Newburyport MA
1999 Johnny Kelley Hyannis MA
2018 James Joyce Ramble 10K Dedham MA
Masters TF Contributor of the Year 2002 Phil Byrne Charlestown MA
2003 Larry Patz Contoocook NH
2014 Gary Snyder Boston MA
MUT Contributor Award 2007 White Mountain Milers Conway NH
2009 Paul Kirsch Conway NH
2010 Bob and Anita Teschek
Granite State Race Services
Newport NH
2012 Northeast Delta Dental New Hampshire
Horace Crow Award
(Association Volunteer)
2001 Justin Kuo Brookline MA
2006 Val Foss Maine Assn
2017 Steve Vaitones Waltham MA
Meet Directors Association
Meet Director of the Year
2017 Bosotn University staff Boston MA
Award Year Honoree
USATF Most Improved/Outstanding Association 1990 New England
1998 New England
2010 New England
Youth Committeee Bill Hargrove Association of the Year 2016 New England
Race Walking Committeee Association of the Year 1997 New England
2000 Maine

Complete lists of awardees recognized by each national committee can be found under the various sports pages at the USA National Site.

USA Track & Field New England

Home | Track & Field | Road Running | Race Walking | Cross Country | Mountain/Trail Running | Membership

Comments? E-mail USATF-NE at webmaster@usatfne.org with suggestions for this page. Thanks!